Snow Day

snow and cardinal

I did not grow up with snow. 

Fog wrapped redwoods.  The cold and roaring Pacific Ocean.  Fast, clear rivers.  But no snow.  If it snowed even once when I was a child in Eureka, California, I do not remember the event. 

Now I live in Fayetteville, Arkansas, in the Ozark Mountains, and we have occasional snow.  Usually.  This year, we are experiencing atypical weather patterns.  At least, I sincerely hope and pray this cold, snowy, icy winter is an anomaly.  Because I am not a lover of cold.  No.  To me, hell is not fiery-hot but bone-cold.

There is a surreal quality to snow.  A dream-like sense of whimsy.  As though anything might appear out my window as I sit and watch the flakes fall.  That heap of white against the fence corner might well hide a troll and there, at the edge of my snow-blurred vision, is that a white witch tucking her dark hair under her ermine-trimmed hood?

snow

Tomorrow it may well ice and the roads be impassable and I will cuss this winter and the inconvenience it pours on our heads.  But for now, for just today, I will simply sit and watch the soft white flakes cover every imperfection, blanket the earth, and transform my world into a place of cold beauty.  

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Snow Day

  1. Jan Morrill says:

    Believe it or not, Pamela, I hear the reports of snow in Fayetteville, see the photos on Facebook, and I miss it. It’s freezing cold here in Dallas, too, and I figure if it’s going to be this cold, I’d like to have the beautiful snow to go with it. Of course, I realize that if I were in Fayetteville, trapped in my house due to snow, I’d be complaining about that, too. :)

  2. Jim says:

    The onset of this system was beautiful with big fluffy snowballs falling for a while. It didn’t last long, but in the past I remember it going on like that and white out.

  3. nancyhartney says:

    I grew up in Florida and did not understand snow until I began downhill snow skiing. Now, at this age, after many fierce winters, I am still enchanted by snow.

  4. gilmiller says:

    Word from a native: When I was a kid, it did this all winter, every winter. I can remember around 1978 or ’79 almost having to go to school on Saturdays to make up for missed days. The weather grew gold and you could just about always count on snow being on the ground for most of January, at the very least. Winters are balmy now compared to what they were then. Count your blessings.

Leave a Reply

