Campfires and Stained Glass Windows

We who believe in the unexplainable, the unknowable if you will, seek each other out.  It’s a need shared by true believers of every stripe.  We gather together on the fringe and share stories by the campfire, or meet in congregations in buildings with stain glass windows.

I KNOW this.

Yet,

I wrote a novel set in Humboldt County (the epicenter of Bigfoot activity), a book rich with both skeptics and characters who belief deeply in a large, hairy mythic creature who roams the forests of the Pacific Northwest.  And then, once the book was picked up by High Hill Press and I began to promote Bigfoot Blues, I was surprised at the number of people who shyly approached me with their own personal stories of encounters with Bigfoot.

Why was I surprised by this?

Because every encounter with the unknown is personal, touches only the individual who experiences that rush of adrenaline that imprints the moment into our memory like a spiritual brand.  Sharing such a moment makes the believer horribly vulnerable.

And yet.

We have a primal need to share our most precious experiences, a need to gather with other believers, a desire for acceptance.  It’s why people approach me at conferences or after writing workshops, sidle up with downcast eyes and share incredible stories.  It’s one of the reasons I wrote Bigfoot Blues.

Saturday night at 9 CST I’ll be talking with Hunter Joe, Sarge and ParaAnne on Investigations of the Unexplained   If you share a fascination with the unknown, the unexplained, please, join us, become a part of the congregation.

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in Bigfoot, Bigfoot Blues, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Campfires and Stained Glass Windows

  1. Oh, I agree. Gives me shivers to talk about unexplained phenomena. Some people shake their heads and walk away. Will try to listen in.

  2. Sandy Caudle says:

    We who have experienced the unexplained don’t share our experience until we sense the receiving party can truly relate to what we are feeling I think. By writing about these experiences you are opening doors for so many of us to be able to walk thru and find we are not alone.

  3. Ruth says:

    Well, you know me. I love the unexplained and love sharing, however much like Sandy, I do so only when I sense the other person is open minded. And just like Velda, I’ve had my share of people that shake their heads and walk away. But the joke is on them: The Truth is out there!

  4. Once when traveling in Yorkshire I stayed in what was reputed to be a haunted hotel room. I mentioned this to my travel companions and was surprised when several of them told me with perfect candor about their own ghostly experiences. Seeing ghosts is more common than I thought! I wrote about it here:
    http://www.gadling.com/2010/10/08/three-nights-in-a-haunted-hotel-room/
    (I hope it’s OK to includea link here. I figured you might get a kick out of it)

  5. Russell says:

    I am fascinated by near death experiences, and have read several books on the subject including “My Descent into Death” by Howard Storm (an athiest at the time of his incident). Most people who have had this experience are reluctant to talk about it, but I have been fortunate enough to meet two or three in person and hear their stories. According to one, the human soul weighs three ounces.

  6. nancyhartney says:

    Nice thought and view on unknown-sometimes seen things. I’ve had two experiences with the mystic; one involved my brother and another my mother. I can still see and hear those events.

Leave a Reply

