Talking Bigfoot with Hunter Joe and a Cast of Thousands

People are so funny.  And by people I mean me.

My friend, Madison Woods, suggested I email Hunter Joe to see if he’d like to interview me on his blog talk show, Investigations of the Unexplained.

The first novel in my Bigfoot series has been released.  Bigfoot Blues.  The novel looks at how we all have to chart our own path through whatever culture we’re born into.  Pick and choose what to embrace as our own, what to ignore, and what to reject outright.

So, the book is not precisely about Bigfoot, but rather set in the heart of the Bigfoot hunter culture.  (and, yes, culture IS the word I want to use there)  Those of you who follow this blog know that Bigfoot has a strong childhood connection and adult interest for me.

So, I sent Hunter Joe a copy of the novel and he asked me to be on his show.

Now, I am not a shy individual.  I think nothing of prancing around a hotel room, making a happy fool of myself telling some story about a bungee cord or a lost monkey-fur coat.  My usual thought process when speaking in front of groups, be they writers or rotary club, is that the worst that can happen is that I will fall on my face with my skirt over my head.  In which case I’ll have a really funny story to tell the next time I speak.

See?  Win/win.

Except, Hunter Joe does a very professional job with his blog talk.  Very pro-fes-sion-al.  He sent me a promotion sheet that, when I added up all the numbers, revealed that my live/uncut/just-as-I-opened-my-giant-mouth-and-said-it voice would be going out to thousands. Yes that’s right, thousands of people.

I panicked.  That’s right.  Me.  Have mouth, will travel.

My heart played a doomsday tune, my hands were clammy, my throat dry.

Right up until the moment I heard Hunter Joe’s voice on the phone for the interview.

Then I was as calm and happy as a well-fed toddler.  I had a terrific time doing the interview.  Sarge and Hunter Joe and ParaAnne were great, made the whole experience fun.  All was well.

Until, once it was over, I clicked the button to replay the broadcast.

The moment my voice came out the speaker system, my hand reached across the keyboard like a striking cobra and shut down the computer.

Stop! Oh, Hell No! Get that OFF before I have rip off my ears!

pam pulling hair 002

So, okay a full day has elapsed and I’ve been a giant baby and made all my friends listen to the broadcast several times over and reassure me that I was funny and interesting and, well, just plain brilliant.

I’m just about ready now to put on my big-girl panties and hit play.

Just about.

Here’s my question for you.  Why, when most of do so love to hear ourselves talk, why than does the sound of our own voice coming through a speaker system, be it Karaoke or blog talk radio or the telephone answering machine, make us want to run screaming into the woods?

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Talking Bigfoot with Hunter Joe and a Cast of Thousands

  1. I thought your voice was lovely on air. But I always hate hearing my own. It seems everyone hates the sound of their own voice.

  2. Exactly. Because, my dear frightened child. How we sound in our ears when we speak is how we look to ourselves when we only think about it. Way different from the cruel reality. No one I know likes the sound of their own voice when it’s recorded. But face it dear, you are entertaining and we’re all accustomed to hearing you speak, so yank on those panties and say to hell with it. I’m great. And beautiful. And young and sexy….well, I may have gone too far there. Love you.

  3. lindarigsbee says:

    I’m sure our voices sound different to us when they come out of electronics, but the truth is, our voice sounds different to everyone coming out of electronics. Sometimes that’s good. My voice sounds better that way because it is no longer a monotone! lol I don’t know if I’d want a verbal interview. I can make a big enough fool of myself on facebook when I’ve had time to think about it! Anyway, congratulations, and though I didn’t hear the interview, I’m sure you were funny and fun.

  4. You’d think I’d be used to how my voice sounds coming through anything. I sound exactly like my mom. Now THERE’S a scarey thought.

  5. Jan Morrill says:

    I was surprised at your reaction, too, Pam. (Though I certainly understand it.) But whenever I listen to you talk, (once I pick myself up off the floor,) I so enjoy your mix of humor and wisdom. And that’s what came through in your interview, too.

  6. Thanks, Jan. I think I’ve recovered from my little attack of narcissistic panic. Next time I expect to breeze through with not a single thought to the sound of my voice. Psst. . . I still haven’t actually listened to the broadcast.

Leave a Reply

