Next Big Thing

pam pulling hair 002

Help

My friend and mentor, Velda Brotherton, invited me to join in the fun of The Next Big Thing.  What, you may well ask, is The Next Big Thing?  Well, it’s essentially a chain-letter via blog posts.  The blogger answers a few interview questions, and passes the fun on to five other bloggers.

But here’s the thing.

I couldn’t find five other bloggers to play along. I did find one.  My good friend, Linda Apple, a wonderful speaker and writer and the maker of the world’s best coffee. So, are you paying attention?

Here is YOUR chance to join in The Next Big Thing.

Just post a comment and tell me you want to be included.  Be sure to include your blog address. I’ll edit this post to include your blog and you can answer the questions in your blog post next week.

Seriously?  How can you pass up a deal like that?

So, here’s the interview:

1)      What is the working title of your book?

Bigfoot Blues

2)      Where did the idea come from for the book?

I wanted to write about a young woman raised in a belief system that, while completely normal to her, would seem peculiar to those outside her culture.  We all struggle to find our way in life without betraying those who raised us and the stricter and more powerful the faith and culture in which we’re raised, the more difficult it is to find a path that is right for us without hurting those who’ve raised and loved us.

Samantha, the main character in Bigfoot Blues, has been raised by her Bigfoot hunter father.

3)      What genre does your book fall under?

Bigfoot blues is contemporary fiction.

4)      Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Every single writer I know could answer this question in an eye blink.  Ruth Weeks says her characters channel themselves to her in the guise of actors.   Jan Morrill and Claire Croxton have answered this same question this week and know precisely what actor they want for each of their characters.

I, however, cannot give you an answer to this question.

My characters are real to me. I see them. Know the color of their eyes and hair at dawn and under fluorescent lights. See the exact way their eyes crinkle at the corners and whether their teeth are straight or crooked.  I know what kind of children they were and the type of old person they’ll likely become.

But, I cannot tell you what actors they look like.  I deliberately do not want them to appear to me in that form.  Because, for me, it would limit the way they reveal themselves, lock them into a restricted identity.

I understand this is odd for a writer. But, those of you who are regular readers of this blog are surely not surprised by oddity coming from me.

5)      What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

When Samantha, the daughter of a famous Bigfoot hunter, enlists the aide of her pals in a scheme to take a meddling author into the woods for a harmless prank, this group of rednecks gets far more than they bargained for, and Samantha finds her destiny.

6)      Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Bigfoot Blues was published by High Hill Press.

7)      How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Six months.  Then I wrote the second novel in my Bigfoot series, Bigfoot Mamas.  After that I went back into Bigfoot Blues and edited and edited and edited three more times before sending the manuscript to the publisher, who assigned Chris Simpkin as editor.  Chris and I went back through the manuscript four more times before the book was published.  No big changes were made, but the book is tighter, easier to read now than it was the first time I typed The End.

8)      What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Truly, I have no idea.  There is fun and entertaining and fascinating information about Bigfoot in the book.  But the book is not about Bigfoot.  The book is about finding the goodness and humor and hope in whatever world we’re born into, about finding our unique and winding trail through life.  Isn’t that, pretty much, what every book is about?

9)      Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My grandfather, Fritz Brockmueller, was a logger who had an encounter with Bigfoot when I was just a kid.  He returned to his cabin at Peckwan and told Grandma and five-year-old- me about how his road building equipment had been thrown around Blue Mountain Road and giant footsteps left in the mud.

10)  What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

The book’s deep point of view and rich sense of place keeps the reader turning pages through one plot twist after another.

Or, how’s this?  The name of the bar Samantha has inherited from her dad is nicknamed VD’s.  Don’t you want to know why?

And, the novel will make you want a Bubba of your very own.  Now, don’t you want to buy the book, just to find out who or what a Bubba is and why on earth you’d want such a creature?

http://lindacapple.wordpress.com/

Your name and blog address here

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Next Big Thing

  1. Jan Morrill says:

    Pam, the fact that you did not want to limit your character to a visual form says volumes about who you are as a person and as a writer, for you understand that it is not what one looks like on the outside, but who they are on the inside that is THE story. Love ya!

    • I suspect my inability to frame the character in an actor’s form is just another example of how very differently we all create. An interesting (Well, I think it’s interesting) thing is that one of the reasons I have a difficult time writing non-fiction is that reality imposes itself over the character and I find that, not freeing as many writers do, but stifling.

  2. Nice post! I didn’t have a clue who the actors would be in Ex-Ray until yesterday morning when I was writing my post. I went online and Googled hot actors in their 30s. I picked Channing Tatum for Joe’s role simply because he has awesome abs. So, I’m with you. I don’t picture actors in the roles. When I’m writing, I picture my characters, not the actor I have in mind to play the part.

    • Hey there. Tatum’s abs are certainly inspiring. These interviews, as well as the teaching we’re doing, makes me dig deeper into the writing process. I’m not always sure this is a good thing.

      • I hear you. Sometimes I think–just write! You can figure the other stuff out soon enough. I find the blogs and teaching as distracting from my art. LOL. Don’t you just love it when people say that?

  3. mgmillerbooks says:

    When I saw that picture of you, I thought, “That’s been in my house?!” Ha. Wishing you and your obsession with big “ahem” feet mucho success.

  4. Thanks, Velda. Necessity truly is the mother of invention.

Leave a Reply

