Resolutions

61439_4095644063107_1514318895_n

My good friend, Jan Morrill, likes New Year’s resolutions.  I love the woman dearly, but I don’t see the point.   Many of my friends mentally hold up goals or wishes, offer these desires to the universe this time of year.  Light candles and release balloons. I love these woman like sisters, but this is not my way.

I wake each morning and do the best I can for that day.  Sometimes the bar is higher than others.  There are days when just getting out of bed and not doing harm is the best I can do from dawn to dusk.  There are days when I have a list a tablet long and check each one off in productive joy.

And, no, I’m not bi-polar.

What I am is either chronically depressed, or a realist.  It depends who you ask, depends where you stand.

I do my best each day with no expectation of results.  None.  My goal is to trust God to provide what I most need.

I have goals.  Of course I do.  But I have almost no control over whether they are realized.  I do my best.  The rest is out of my hands.

And those goals don’t change or even intensify just because the calendar says we have a new year.

Sometimes I work and work and nothing comes of my plans and time and energy.  At least nothing I can recognize as a result of the work.

Other times, I seem to stumble upon good luck and what I’m tempted to call blessings.  I say tempted because, it’s all blessing.  Even those results that wound and knock me to my knees.

God’s plan is not always my plan.  Okay, I’ll be honest.  God’s plan is rarely my plan.  But it’s nonetheless, God’s plan.

May your internal fighter always get back up, accept that what looks like defeat may well be only an unexpected fork in the road.  Keep slugging.  Follow the advice of the psalmist and my friend, Linda C Apple, relax, stop struggling, Be still and know that I am God.

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Resolutions

  1. Linda Apple says:

    Wise words from a wise woman. Beautiful post Pam!

  2. Dianna Graveman says:

    Lovely post! But I’m afraid — like Jan — I just can’t stop making those resolutions. I’ll probably disappoint myself again. 🙂 But making resolutions to me seems like giving myself hope that this year I’ll do better. Either way, have a great 2013, Pam! I’m one of your biggest fans.

    • Yeah, you’re right Dianna. Although you know these inspirational resolutions might motivate you to do something different and rewarding this year, character will always be built if you didn’t complete your compiled resolutions list this year. People say, “Well, there’s always next year!” They aren’t kidding! Maybe today wasn’t great, so try tomorrow. Maybe this week was a failure, try next month. If you never created a sense of motivation for success, it will never come to you and whisper, “Hey, you’ve been saying this for the last five years – maybe THIS year will BE the CHANGE you’ve always wanted!” As Pam mentioned, “I do my best each day with no expectation of results. None,” she is absolutely right. You really don’t understand the outcome until it happens. Ok, so one of your resolutions might suggest more exercise or a healthier diet. Did you prepare healthy meals throughout the week until a friend recommended the best ice cream to buy at the store? So what if you indulged! You deserved it! Whether it’s false hope or a haunting determination when you see your treadmill covered in dust, I wish the best of luck in your endeavors of 2013! 😉

  3. Well said, Pam. Reminds me of an old adage, “If (he/she) it showed up, it’s either a blessin’ or a lesson.” And lessons are just blessin’s that make you work a bit. Let’s throw our arms open to them all!
    Thanks for the reminder and a whopping good 2013 to you.

  4. Yes! Continue to live life to the fullest one heart beat at a time with God by your side. God bless. I wish the best of luck in all your endeavors of 2013. Thanks for sharing. Take care.

  5. I am going to be honest and say that I don’t always do my best. There are days when I just feel lazy and encounter obstacles I just don’t have the motivation to surmount. My natural state of being is quiet and reserved and a loner. And there isn’t anything *wrong* with doing that or being that way, but it’s just not the part of me I *want* to groom at this point. The part of me I want to bring out needs help doing it, because it involves stepping outside of my comfort zones, and that’s what the goals and resolutions do for me. But the call to be a hermitress is strong in me, and I might be able to handle a non-schedule no-resolutions path then… but I’ll want to grow a garden…and even that’s already giving rise to ideas for new resolves to learn and other goals to set …. I just can’t help it, I like goal setting no matter what life I’m leading 🙂

    The world is made with awesome variety and you give wonderful perspective to me because we’re different. Thanks for your insight Pam.

  6. Jan Morrill says:

    I can’t argue with you, dear friend. I suppose I still like the childlike fantasy of resolutions. It gives me hope, provides me some focus, if only for a little while. Though I don’t ONLY make resolutions at New Years, I see January 1 as starting with a clean slate. But, I love what you said about “what looks like defeat may well be only an unexpected fork in the road.” From my experience, it usually is a fork. Defeat only comes when we don’t pick ourselves up and keep moving forward. As always, I love and appreciate your insight! (But, I’m still gonna keep my resolutions — just like I still make wishes when I blow out my candles.) 🙂

  7. Beautiful post! So glad Jan shared your link. 🙂 Happy New Year! May all of your wishes and dreams come true.

  8. I’m like this, too, but I see Jan’s point. If you don’t have a plan and goals it’s too easy to not get anywhere, just drift and stagnate. And we DO have some control over our lives, a lot, actually, but we do have to keep adapting as things pop up.

  9. ruth says:

    Wow, so many thoughts just because a new year has started. Do I make resolutions? Nope, can’t say I do. Do I make goals? Nope, can’t say I do. Not consciously, anyway. I’m a little like Jan and a little like Pam. But most of all, I’m me. that seems to work the best. I’m like Nemo, “just keeping swimming, just keep swimming.”

  10. I don’t usually make New Year’s resolutions, but I make resolutions and set goals often during the year. Whatever works…and if it doesn’t work, erase, re-do, resolve.

  11. Carri says:

    Wonderful! This is why I am your newest groupie!!!

  12. keliwright says:

    I think you do have resolutions, Pam. They are stated in your post–to get up and keep living, and to do no harm. These are great examples of true resolutions, not the wish-making many do January 1. They are a part of who you are, an evidence of your deep convictions. They show your resolve. How you accomplish them is the work of each day. Thanks for your perspective, and for reiterating one of my favorite scriptures.

  13. keliwright says:

    And, in light of your post, I would love to hear your opinion on my own resolution offering. http://keliwright.wordpress.com/2013/01/01/another-post-on-resolutions/

  14. irishcsred says:

    I have always said that resolutions set us up for failure. Most of what we resolve to change are old habits that take years to break. The human mind needs victories 🙂 Great post!

Leave a Reply

