Weight loss, Bigfoot and Creativity Coaches

Smalfut

Tell me:

I saw Bigfoot.

My heartfelt reaction is going to be:

Wow.  That’s awesome.  How did the encounter change your life?

Make me a special offer, a claim that involves me handing over money, time, or energy:

Tame your own Bigfoot to take out the garbage and babysit your child.  Only 572 payments of $12.84.

Now I’m a skeptic.  My ears close shut like Chesty’s when he doesn’t want to stop chasing rabbits.   Sorry, I cannot hear a word you say.  If you want me to listen, prove your claim to me.  As they say in neighboring Missouri, Show me.

Tell me:

I’ve lost 100 pounds on this new diet.

Even if it looks to me like the entire claimed weight loss is stuffed into those badly chosen rear-end-light jeans, I’m going to be happy for you.

Make the claim:

For less then the cost six cups of Starbucks coffee a day you can lose up to 300 pounds in one week while sitting on your ass and eating potato chips, ice cream and M&M’s. . .

You get the idea.

So, when Jan Morrill, president of Ozark Writers League, told me the February meeting of OWL was going to feature a Creativity Coach, my gut reaction was,

There’s no such thing as a creativity coach.  I’m pleased for this woman, this Romney Nesbitt, that she’s found a way to sell her book by convincing people she can help them be creative but, really?  A creativity coach?

Still, I attended the conference, had the usual wonderful time visiting with old friends and making a couple of new friends.  Got a hug from Bonnie Tesh and stayed up half the night with Ruth Weeks.  (Between the Ruthie and me, by the way, we’ve fixed the entire world.  If only we could get people to listen to us.)

The conference was five days ago.

Remember I said my reaction to any claim involving time, money, or energy, is always

Prove it.

Show me.

Well, here’s the thing.  Since returning from OWL, I’ve started a new blog, talked to UofA about distributing an upcoming book, (On the Move with Chesty and Rocca.  You knew there was no way I was going to miss a chance to plug my book.  Right?), and my productivity on the western I’m in the middle of writing has jumped from 200 words a day to my usual 2,000.

That’s a fairly impressive jump in creativity.

Claire Croxton has rearranged her schedule around donkeys, bunnies, chickens, sheep and donkeys, so that she’s actually writing again.

Ruth Weeks has new pages to share at our Thursday night critique group.  Something that hasn’t happened in months.

Jan Morrill, has broken through her writers block with a courageous blogpost and her book The Red Kimono has been released!!!!  Okay, maybe the creativity coach didn’t have anything to do with the book release, but still. . .

So, skeptic that I am, I gotta say, if you hear of a conference where Romney Nesbitt is speaking, doing her creativity coach thing, you might want to sign up.

How about you other OWL members out there?  Has your creativity gone up since this we met last week?

Anybody seen Bigfoot or want to convince me to spend my Starbucks dollars on a claim I cannot afford to miss?

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weight loss, Bigfoot and Creativity Coaches

  1. Jan Morrill says:

    Good post, Pam! I must say, as I find myself goofing off, I hear Romney talking to me, and it has certainly helped. I’ll send her a link to your blog!

  2. Gina says:

    I have heard Romney speak in the past and it helped me get back on track creatively.

  3. I agree, Pam – Romney was a POWerful speaker and gave us so many tools to use there’s no longer any excuse for piddle-farting around. Surely her experience as a teacher and a pastor have given her the gift of getting people to DO THE RIGHT THING, i.e. CREATE! Can’t wait to see her again at Okla. Writers Federation conference in May.

  4. Linda Joyce says:

    Pamela,

    Enjoyed the post. Love the way you took us full circle.

    I have been blessed to be on the recieving end of personal coaching from Ms. Nesbitt and I hold her in the highest regard. She is able to get to the root of the issue and find ways for me make it better, whatever “it” may be that’s holding me back from my personal goals.

    Also, I was there and heard with my own ears when NY Times Best Selling Author said, after sitting in on one of Romney’s classes at the Writer’s Academy, “Romney Nesbitt changed my life. Approaching elephants, indeed!”

    My congrats to Ms. Nesbitt for yet another successful seminar.

    Smiles,

    Linda Joyce

  5. After reading your post, I’m sorry to have missed her. Maybe I’ll get to see her at OWFI 🙂 I’ve been following various life and creativity coaches’ blogs and can see the value in what they do. Just reading (or listening to the podcasts) their posts give me lots of food for thought.

Leave a Reply

