Acceptance or Aargh!

very big obese person traveling by airplane

Mark boards a crowded airplane, finds his aisle seat, wedges himself in and fastens his seatbelt. Beside him, staring out the window is a thin, sickly man.  Mark extends his hand to the man.

“Hello, I’m Mark Smith.”

The man meets his gaze, declines his hand and introduces himself.

“Joe Smith.”  He reaches under the seat in front of him, extracts a huge pill organizer.  The thing must contain three dozen or more pills.  The man answers the question in Mark’s eyes. “I have Aids, I’m HIV positive.”

Instinctively and before he can stop himself, Mark shrinks back away from the man, his body leans into the aisle and he knows his eyes are wide in fear.

Embarrassed by his lack of love for his fellow human being, Mark takes his bible from his briefcase, and asks the man, “I’m a Pentecostal preacher.  Can I pray with you brother?”

The man shrinks back away from Mark, pushes himself against the plane’s window, his eyes wide in fear.

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Acceptance or Aargh!

  1. Wow. I confess I would have shrunk away someone coming at me with a Bible before someone coming at me with AIDS – something I would never have thought of before this. Great “A.” 🙂

  2. ohlatu says:

    I have joined in to read your blogs and to reply. I think there are to many small minded people who do not have a clue. You always come up with such interesting subjects.

  3. Hahahahahaha! 😀 Oh, our many and varied fears!

  4. Loved the juxtaposition of equal and opposing fears!

Leave a Reply

