Belief and Bigfoot

Smalfut

Many of you know the story of how my grandfather’s road building equipment was scattered all over the backside of Blue Mountain by a critter with very large feet.  This was back in the 1950’s when I spent summers in the heart and soul of Bigfoot country.

Over fifty years later, I wrote a book about a young woman, Samantha, raised by her Bigfoot hunter father.  Those of you who are regular followers of this blog know I do not use these posts to promote my book.  Do I hope you’ll love my writing voice and seek out my books?

As my nephew Jake would say, “Well, duh.”

This weekend I made an off-hand remark to a friend which sparked a skirmish.

I told the friend, “Bigfoot Blues is about a young woman finding her path through the insular and loving world of a belief system not embraced by those outside the community.”

The friend scratched his head and asked, “Why then didn’t you make Samantha the daughter of a fundamentalist preacher, be it Christian, Muslim, or Jew.  Any fundamentalist world would do.  Why make her the daughter of a famous bigfoot hunter?”

“Because,”I said. “As a general rule, Bigfooters have a much better sense of humor than religious fundamentalists of any stripe.”

Now, before you get offended, I’m NOT comparing Jesus to Bigfoot and I’m NOT saying fundamentalist have no sense of humor about anything.  I’m just saying that there is some truth in my statement.  It takes passion and courage to have faith.  Be it belief in a messiah who rises from the dead and appears to you and your friends.  Or the existence of a large, so far unidentified, creature that roams isolated patches of woods.

Passionate people are seldom a laugh a minute, especially when the focus of the laughter is their own belief system and there is similarity in all faiths.

So, what do you think? Is it possible to be both passionate in our faith AND able to see the absurdity in that very belief?

Whether you belief in Mohammed or Jesus or Jehovah or Bigfoot, I’d like to hear from you.

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Belief and Bigfoot

  1. Kay Lawson says:

    HaHaHaHaHaHa!! I couldn’t agree more. What this world needs is a humor patch! Just slap it on your arm and enjoy the jokes! Maybe we could become stealth patchers, sneaking up on the surly and the self righteous and slapping a patch on their necks when they least expect it. Thanks, Pamela.

  2. Jan Morrill says:

    Good question, Pamela, but no, I don’t think so. I do, however, think we can be passionate in our own faith and understand that OTHERS may see it as absurd.

  3. Isn’t God supposed to have a sense of humor? He works in mysterious ways and what have you. I definitely believe it is important to question one’s faith and continually grow in it. I do not think it’s wise or kind to laugh at other peoples’ faiths. We all exist together. Laugh, hug and go on with life.

  4. I think if we’re stuck in a place that doesn’t make room for others’ perceptions, it might be time to take a step back and get over ourselves. I’ve been there with certain things; gone right to being affronted and taking what was said as a personal attack. Happily, the older I get, the less likely I am to be “that person,” and more likely to laugh right along with the finger-pointer. 🙂

  5. Ruthie says:

    Well, Holy Cow! You’re wanting to know what I think of Humor in this oh-so serious world??? hahahaha. Humor and Love are the only things what matter. Period. End of sentence.

  6. Well, I can easily see how some of the beliefs I am passionate about can be considered absurd by others. I can admit they’re absurd, but I still know them as ‘real’ to me. I find humor in that 🙂

  7. I’ve had some personal experiences, which led me to question my faith. I’ve read quite a bit since then and now believe that religion is a falsehood perpetrated on the human race for various reasons, and thus is humorless.

    Faith, on the other hand, is quite different. I know many people of faith who have a great sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

