Fool, Fool, Fool

jester

A fool is an unpaid, or poorly paid, person especially devoted to or skilled in some activity.

For instance, I am a writing fool.

Six hours of every day are spent on my widening butt in front of a computer screen. Or to put it another way, I spend six hours a day in a world of my own creation.  I soar and plummet and kill and forgive.  I feel the heat of an open fire on my face.  Follow Bigfoot through the fog drenched forests of the Pacific Northwest.  Experience the dull, gray ache of a civil war veteran who is never coming home.  Ride a glass elevator in a foreign city with a dog as big as small elephant tethered to my wrist while my husband smiles widely at the beautiful and very nervous woman beside us and sings Young girl, Get outta my mind.

I am a writing fool.

Now, if I ever actually make significant money with my words, then I’ll be a hard-working, hugely talented and prolific author.

Right?

In this definition, the only difference between a fool and a success is money.

So, here’s the opportunity I’m giving you.  Buy my books now.  While they’re still the work of a fool.  That way, when I cross that bridge from the land of idiots to that tiny island of successful authors, you’ll be able to smile smugly and tell your friends,

“Oh my gosh.  I’ve been following Pamela Foster‘s blogs and reading her work for years.  I knew she’d be discovered sooner or later.  I just can’t believe it took the rest of you so long to figure out what a wonderful writer she is.”

Or perhaps, after reading this post, you have a somewhat different definition of my particular variety of fool.

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fool, Fool, Fool

  1. Ah, but Pam, a fool and his money is soon parted. So does money really mean you’re not a fool? Can’t a person be successful and a fool all at the same time? I think that’s what I want to be, a successful fool; money to burn with the flame and passion still burning in my heart to follow my dream.

  2. Duke Pennell says:

    I love your wit and your style. You hang in there, fool that you are, in the company of fools like us, until the rest of the world catches up. But even if they don’t, who’d give up such distinguished comrades-in-words as we? And wouldn’t we all be the poorer fools if we did?

  3. Indeed. We are a happy ship of fools.

  4. keliwright says:

    I miss you, you hard-working, talented, underpaid fool! I do enjoy your blog.

  5. Methinks money – or the lack thereof – doesn’t make a fool. A fool would be one who has product available and does nothing to market it. Which means you’re no fool. 😉

  6. I’m proud to be a mate on your ship of fools, LOL.

  7. I, too, Pamela, am a writing fool–wondering sometimes why I’m doing this. But then every day finds me at my computer. I’m compelled to write things down–even if it’s my daily responses to e-mail or my memories.

Leave a Reply

