HOME

011 bb cover stump

I’ve moved around a lot since leaving Humboldt County in my Thirties.

Spent a year and a half in a tiny town in Germany.

germany

Lived in the woods on the edge of the Van Duzen River.

van duzen river

Spent six months living in seedy motels in central California with two sons under the age of four while their dad worked twelve hour days training for a job.

seedy motel

Moved to Hawaii and lived in a tiny A frame on the side of Mauna Loa and then in a wood plantation house on Mauna Kea.

hawaii

  Lived beside Mexico’s Caribbean Seapaamul

on Panama’s Pacific coast,Panama Pictures024

in the high desert near Tombstone, Arizona  c101612 311

and in the Ozark mountains of Arkansas.    ozarks

Each time I moved, I took with me no more than I could fit in one suitcase. Possessions become less valuable when you give them away every five years and start again. There are a couple of things I still miss.  Grandma’s copper teapot that got left behind in Hawaii.  My Jerusalem Bible with twenty-year’s worth of notes in the margins of which I pray some gringo in Mexico is making good use.  A cast-iron pig my boys bought me for my thirtieth birthday that my sister has stored somewhere among the cobwebs of sixty years of accumulated treasures.

Still and all, I’ve learned an important lesson or two from all this traveling around.  Most of you figured these things out without uprooting yourselves and moving every five years. I’ve always been a slow learner.

When you see pictures of families clutching each other and staring at what a tornado or a fire left of their houses, and you hear them thank God and say how lucky they are, they’re telling you the truth.

George Carlin said, A house is where we keep our stuff so we can go out and buy more stuff.

Home is where the heart is and we either carry that within ourselves or go homeless.

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to HOME

  1. Susan Finlay says:

    Interesting. Beautiful pictures. I’ve moved around a lot, too. Where in Germany did you live?

  2. When I was going through my divorce I was forced to consider selling the land I’ve come to love. It wasn’t until I accepted it and began the effort to actually do it that I realized I could be ‘at home’ anywhere. There are places I’d prefer to be, places that really do speak to my soul, but I will be happy no matter where I am from now on.

  3. I’ve embraced minimalism wholeheartedly, although I eased into it over the span of a couple years. I have little in the way of physical possessions, and at least 95% of what I do have is for its usefulness.
    While moving with such frequency can’t be – or have been – easy, what a wonderful opportunity you’ve had to see a variety of locations on our fair Mother Earth.

Leave a Reply

