Somersaults and Silly Stuff

poppies

I have a clear memory of my grandmother pulling weeds in her backyard.  It was late summer because the branches of the plum tree behind her hung rich with purple-black fruit.  Pink and white and bright orange oriental poppies fluttered in a border and the grass sparkled the emerald green of a rainy Pacific Northwest summer.  The day shimmered with the silvery afternoon light seen after a hard rain.

I’m feeling silly today, Grandma said.  And then she pressed the top of her gray head onto the soft grass and turned a somersault.  Her back slammed into the wet grass and water sprayed in an arc around her.  She pushed herself to her feet, her backside covered in green-black mud, winked over her shoulder at me and went in the house to take a shower.

Holy smoke, an old lady turning a somersault.  I laughed ’till I puked.  Of course, Grandma was probably fifty at the time.  A really, really old woman.  And, honesty requires that I tell you she’d been known to have a few nips, but my point is. . .

Grandma knew how to be silly.

That’s a talent I’ve lost recently.  And that’s a damn shame.

What with writing and promoting and blogging and everything else I’ve convinced myself is so important, I haven’t been silly in ages.  I miss it.  Haven’t turned a somersault since I stopped scuba diving.  (It’s a much easier maneuver under water)

So, help me out here.  What does an woman of a certain age do for silliness?  All I can come up with is to crank up the old time rock and roll and dance around the house while the dog blinks at me like I’ve lost my mind.

That’s gotta be more possibilities than that!

What do you do to be silly?  And when’s the last time you WERE silly.  Are you like me and its been so long ago, you’ve forgotten the feeling?  That can’t be good.

I hereby vow to be silly at least once a week.  How’s that for good mental health?  Now, please, I’m beggin’ you.  What can an old woman do to be silly?

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Somersaults and Silly Stuff

  1. truthsbyruth says:

    My favorite thing to be is silly. I am a master of it. Sing. Color. Laugh outloud. And you’re forgetting that last year at this time you did play and were silly. Remember the Bungee Cord story! Great fun. Hang with me and never fear, silliness and play will befall you.

  2. presidentowl says:

    Oh dear, Pam. We’re in trouble. I thought you were one of my silliest friends. If you’re not silly, you do a good job faking it. I’m in awe of both yours and Ruth’s silliness. I want to rub on you, hoping it will rub off on me.

    But seriously, I know what you mean. We get so caught up in the seriousness of life, we forget to be silly, until we forget how to be silly. I still remember my mom saying, “Janice! Quit being so silly.”

    Well, sometimes I feel like I’ve forgotten how, but I’m not willing to completely give in. Here’s my idea. Let’s go for a walk around the lake and skip instead. At least for the ten seconds we can keep up a skip, if nothing else, we’d look pretty silly. 🙂 Hugs!

  3. I love being silly. Keeps you young.

    janet

  4. Your Grandma is the kind of Grandma I strive to be. Great S post!!
    Connie
    A to Z-ing to the end
    Peanut Butter and Whine

  5. I get very silly with my siblings and friends. We tease, joke, pretend to cheat at cards, tweak each other, try on ridiculous hats at stores… On one notable occasion, just a few years ago, my friend Deb and I took a day trip to the Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe, VT. When we got there, we headed straight for the large gift shop, on the lookout for postcards. (I love to send postcards. I’ve been known to send them from local towns, just because. Silly.) We found postcards, and we also found adorable stuffed goats that played a portion of “The Lonely Goatherd” when you squeezed one of their hooves. Well. Being silly, as we’re wont to be, we squeezed all of them. They were scattered all over the store, so we went in different directions and activated the whole lot, sang along, and giggled like schoolgirls. 🙂

  6. Kay Lawson says:

    Wow, Pam! I know this feeling–when did I grow up? I certainly didn’t intend to!! The best advice I ever found to counteract the curse of maturity was to find a quiet spot and sit there with your cup of whatever. Try to remember the kid you used to be when you were about 10–before puberty cast its hormonal spell. What did that kid love? What was that kid going to be when she grew up? Reconnect with that girl and go back to doing those things, develop those passions again. You’ll laugh; you’ll cry; you’ll wonder where you lost the plot, but you may find that thread of truth that leads you back to that amazing little girl. I bet Grandma turned a lot of somersaults when she was 10!

Leave a Reply

