What’s in a Name?

9e696_OldPeopleHoldingHands1

Several friends are participating in NaBloPoMo.  A commitment of a blog post each day of the month.  No.  I am NOT doing this.  Not again.  The theme of the blog challenge is genealogy and I have always said that no good can possible come of me finding out even more about my ancestors than I already know.

However, I AM intrigued by some of the prompts.  What I’m going to do is choose my favorite prompt of the week and use it in my usual Monday post.  Cheating.  I know.  I own it.  I come from loose women, liars and all around interesting folks.  As my dad used to say, “The acorn don’t fall far from the tree.” 

Which brings me to my chosen prompt:  Are you named for someone in your family tree? 

Here’s my answer.

No. 

I once sat in on a training meeting, one of those let-us-all-share-until-we-cry type of deals.  The facilitator asked this same question. 

Who were you named after?

Unfortunately, I was last to share. 

After the women who was named for her ancestor who died while giving birth in a log cabin in a blizzard. 

And the man who was named for his civil war hero great-great-great grandpa Jeremiah who walked home after the war- a thousand miles and worth every step to return to grandma Emily. 

And the woman whose namesake raised twenty-eight adopted children and then won the lottery and retired to Guatemala where she spent the remaining years of her life building stick houses for pagan babies.

Okay, I made that last one up.  But you catch my drift.

When it was my turn to share, I told the truth.  My mother named me Pamela because the name carries well when yelled out the backdoor.  Try it.  Paaaam-aaaa-laaaa. 

See what good and wise stock I come from?

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s in a Name?

  1. Paaaaaaaaam aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa laaaaaaaaaaaa. Oh, that’s way better than Stella. What was Tennessee Williams thinking?

  2. Pingback: #NaoBloPoMo Post 10: Moving | The Red Kimono

  3. Pingback: More on My Genealogy [NaBloPoMo] : You Won't Tame this Sassy Cat

Leave a Reply

