The Quality of Light

sunlight

Last week I had the privilege of speaking to Saturday Writers in St. Peters, Missouri.  One of the things I talked about was the importance of light in sense of place.  All writers have their own style.  I do my best to incorporate the quality of light into each scene.

Friday I went with my good friend, Margot, to see the Angels and Tomboys exhibit at the Crystal Bridges Museum in Bentonville, Arkansas.  There, for the first time, I saw paintings by the artist John George Brown.  A man who understands the importance of light in a scene and incorporates that quality into his paintings brilliantly.

I stood for a long time in front of Brown’s, The Cider Mill.

I thought about how that painting is the difference between, “Five little girls sit on a picnic table and eat apples” and “ PURE MAGIC”.

John George brown

Look at the way the sun glows translucent through the grass in the background, turns the tall stems to living gold.  See the pools of sun on the girls’ dresses, on the face of the child to the far left, the basket of apples in the foreground?

Magic.

Pure Magic.

My friend Margot bought me a print of The Cider Mill.  I now have this masterpiece on the wall next to my computer.  We all need goals.  Mine is to write the way John George Brown paints.

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Quality of Light

  1. Thanks for your beautiful email & words of wisdom. I will look at pictures
    and words in a different light & mind now. Donna

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Linda Apple says:

    You already do dearest. You already do.

  3. Ruthie says:

    Magic is so much more than spells and wands. Magic is all around us. Writers, such as you Pam, create magic with words. Others make it with paints or music. Magic happens everyday, we just need to be aware. That is why I love magic.

  4. I’d have to agree with the others, you do create magic. I like the idea of painting with words. I think Hemingway used to hang out with Cezanne for the same reasons, to gain the perspective you spoke of in your post.

  5. Mona Krause says:

    You have always seen magic where you go. From Mexico,Panama,and Arizona. Pam you are one of the most gifted people to be able to write about all that you take in. I know you feel the light. Any one that meets you see it.

Leave a Reply

