Free Advice. Worth Every Nickel.

istock_000011134641small

Every day, every single freaking day, I receive between four and eight emails from people eager to share with me their expert opinions about marketing my book.  Go ahead, Google it. Type inHow to market your book. Bookmark this post first so that, ten years from now, when you’ve finished reading all the helpful information, you can click your way back here.

When I was a kid my mom would shake her head at me and say, “Well, Pamela, as usual, you’re as happy as if you had good sense.”

Little did I know this really meant, “Well, Pamela, the best thing for you to do is to grow up to be a writer.”

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pen taught a workshop at the Newton County, Arkansas library yesterday.  We had the BEST time.  I taught at Maison on Main, a beautiful little B&B in Fayette, Missouri two weekends ago.  A couple of weekends before that I was standing in front of group of brilliant writers in St. Louis at Saturday Writers. In each of those cases, I enjoyed every minute of the day.  Every minute.

63 

Yesterday in beautiful Jasper, Arkansas a lovely woman asked me, “Do you write for money or do you write to share your words with others?”

I laughed until I cried.  Then I picked myself up and laughed some more.  Luckily I was sitting next to Linda Apple at the time and she was gracious and concise enough to reply for me, “There’s not generally a lot of money in writing, but we love what we do.”

Exactly.

If one of my books hit the jackpot and all those old, now long fuzzy, dreams came true.  If you saw me on Jon Stewart and Good Morning America and my books were on book shelves all over the world and I had to hire people to manage my money because I had just too darn much of the stuff.  If all that happened.

I’d do exactly what I’m doing now.

I’d write everyday.

I’d travel around and share my experiences with other people.  I’d listen to the wonderful folks who come out to hear me and who stay to share a little bit of themselves.  I’d donate a little to charity.

(For more on this see my other blog woundedwarriorwife.wordpress.com/.

So, if you want to be writer or already are a writer struggling to market your books, my free and expert advice to you is this:

Develop and nourish within yourself the childlike ability to be as happy as if you had good sense.

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Free Advice. Worth Every Nickel.

  1. lunazega says:

    Great presentation yesterday, Pam! Yeah, I was laughing along with you. I’m glad Linda has such a gracious nature. I agree. I write because it’s who I am. What I have to do to express myself and stay sane. Yep. Money would be awesome. I’d love to go head-to-head with Jon Stewart. He’d leave me a messy pile of ooze on the floor, but I don’t care. I’d still love it. Yesterday made me realize something. I love doing workshops. Simply love it. I loved teaching too. So, added to my to-do list that includes farm chores, writing, blogging, promoting, and breathing, is finding more speaking engagements. Thanks again for a lovely day yesterday!

  2. Katie Cross says:

    I really like the way you think. But I like the way you write more. Consider me a new friend. 😉

  3. Beth Carter says:

    It’s much more important to love what you do than to count your money. Of course, ideally, it would be the most fun to do both!

    Glad you are enjoying the workshops and I’m sure you and the Sisters are having a ball spreading the joy of the written word.

  4. One of my favorite answers a writer ever gave was when a little boy in a school group asked “Have you made a million dollars yet?” and the author smiled and answered “Not with writing.” Then he went on to the next child’s question, so we in the audience chuckled and had to decide the range of information that answer alluded to without telling specifics.

Leave a Reply

