Nature is a mirror for the Soul

maple in fall

Overnight, autumn arrived, all flashy oranges and jeweled reds and brilliant yellows.  The season tricked me into believing the cool, crisp, heaven-sent days would last.  On Monday, the maple across the street was a blaze of glimmering color.  By Saturday the tree’s top branches stretched bald into a dull sky, a ring of red leaves around the bottom of the stately tree already curling in on themselves.

This autumn is a mirror of my current life. Or so it feels.

At sixty-three, my heart may shimmer with plans and dreams, but my back aches, my body grows more stiff each day, and my energy level is reminiscent of those curled bottom leaves on the neighbor’s maple.  Winter, that cold and heartless bitch, grows closer with every dawn.  Each year, a larger part of me yearns to curl up under the warm snow banks and sleep my way to rebirth.

And yet. 

There are books to write and people to love, night skies to fall into and soft dawns to embrace. 

Frost said it best. 

“But I have promises to keep

 and miles to go before I sleep.”

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nature is a mirror for the Soul

  1. Katie Crosse says:

    Oh, I loved this! I can’t tell you how many ways I loved this today.

  2. Natine says:

    Absolutely love the imagery in the words. (And can so relate.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

