God with Us

t13185-the-annunciation-lorenzo-monaco

 

This Christmas I’m giving you a poem.  I’m a novelist and a writer of essays and humor.  I know nothing of poetry.  But I know about joy.  And I know about pain.  And I know I am not alone in this knowledge.

So, I beg your indulgence.  For the rest of the year, I’ll stick to prose.

But, just this once, here’s my Christmas poem to you:

Emmanuel

Luminous pearls knotted haphazardly along a dirty string.

That’s life.

The trick is to polish those wondrous orbs like prayer beads.

Cherish each joy

Enter into each precious, fleeting moment.

 

Ugly stones, rough and cutting rocks

These live in us forever too, of course

We press scarred fingertips against sharp edges

Probe gently along each stabbing point

And move quickly past.

 

The trick is to trace those shards hard enough to remind

Not so hard as to reopen old wounds.

The trick is to caress each pearl in aching memory

Until joy, not pain,

Becomes our expectation.

Merry Christmas everyone and may Jesus be born anew in your hearts each and every day of the new year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to God with Us

  1. laurewaytek says:

    Merry Christmas, Pam! Your poem is beautiful and moving. I enjoy all of your posts, but confess to being sometimes busy and sometimes lazy when it comes to letting you know. So know now that you are appreciated and loved. You are truly an artist. I have busy hands and eyes, so would like to know, are your books are available on audio?

  2. Natine says:

    Thank you for the poem, Pamela. I’m not a poet (and never played one on T.V.) but I appreciate word images and the need to sometimes express what’s in our heads with minimal words. I hope your Christmas was peaceful, and that you find many blessings in the upcoming year. ~ Natine 🙂

  3. Jim says:

    Wise words Pam Thank you

Leave a Reply

