There Be Monsters

PerfectVictim_coverSM_10-16-14

Yesterday Jan Morrill, the award winning author of The Red Kimono, and a good friend of mine, posted a blog about the beast within us all. Her point, if I understood it correctly, was that these monsters must be embraced by the writer of truth and exposed to the reader in all their awesome, horrendous beauty. As so often happens among good friends, Jan’s words came at a perfect time in my own life.
I too am struggling with the exposure of a naked, twisted monster.
The Perfect Victim, my seventh book, will be released next month. Those of you who are fans know my books are about relationships. Yes, the characters occasionally have sex. But there has never before in my writing been any need to take the reader inside the bedroom in order tell the story. In fact, it is my belief that we all have active, rich, layered memories of sexual encounters and exploits which generally far exceed reality. I do my best to lead the reader to the open door of the bedroom, invite them inside, and then back slowly away and let imagination fill in the nooks and crannies of the scene.
But for this latest book, The Perfect Victim, I had to bring the reader inside explicit sex. And not sex between two people who love and respect and desire each other but violent, twisted, power-hungry sex. Sex that has little to do with love and everything to do with domination. The book is about how our past so often dictates our present, how a child raised in an abusive household seeks comfortable, familiar patterns in their adult relationships. It’s also about healing and revenge and a woman who wrestles the past around until she can look into the face of the monster and strike a mortal blow.
The story cannot be told without the reader experiencing the peculiar mix of terror and shame, love and acceptance that is carried within children of sexual abuse.
One of the novel’s beta readers told me, “I put the book down over and over, wanted to walk away, but each time, concern for Mary (the point of view character) brought me back within minutes. I HAD do know what happened to her, was cheering for her every step of the way.”
I hope you will feel the same when you read this book, that you will be appalled and frightened and made uncomfortable by Mary’s choices and by the terror-strewn path down which these choices lead. I also hope you will come away with a better understanding of the complexities and long-term consequences for a child for whom trust is broken.
This was a difficult book to write and yet the words poured out of me and onto the page. The entire book was written in eight weeks. Two months of sixteen-hour days in front of a computer living inside the character. This one cost me to write. This one opened a very dark place inside, a place where there be monsters. Grotesque, open-mouthed, hungry beasts that burst forth from my psyche and spilled all over the page.
I hope you will read The Perfect Victim, allow yourself to be seduced by the twisted beauty of the monster exposed in this story, be caught up in the heroes quest, and healed by the transformation of pain into self-acceptance. Like Mary, we all have monsters within us. We also have heroes and saints. In the end, we must accept them all as part of who we are, or live a life where joy is tarnished by the past and dulled by secret denial.

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in abuse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There Be Monsters

  1. Jackie Jones says:

    Help!!! Her husband!!

  2. Best advice I’ve read in a long time. Reminds me of old C. Jung. I think you scared Jack, though. 🙂 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

