lies

PerfectVictim_coverSM_10-16-14

I write cross-genre. Or so the folks that need to know where to put my books on the Barnes and Noble shelf tell me. Since Barnes and Noble isn’t doing particularly well right now, and publishing in general is a kind of crap shoot, I don’t take that cross-genre label too seriously.
However, my newest book, The Perfect Victim, will be released in a few weeks and that’s got me thinking. You see this newest novel is labeled a suspense. And it is. It most surely is. And I’ve not written a suspense before so technically, this is a new genre for me.
But, in truth, I’m a story teller.
Some stories are funny.
Some are dark and gritty.
Some are suspenseful.
Some are fun and light.
Some open doors that make us uncomfortable.
Like life itself, stories are often a mix of all the above.
Those of you who follow this blog know my goal as a novelist is to reveal the truth by telling lies. I wrote The Perfect Victim in order to tell a deep truth. I’m not going to reveal to you what that truth is simply because there is no way I can do so without giving away the plot of the book.
But I hope the book will encourage discussion. I hope some of the scenes in the book make readers uncomfortable. I hope readers close the book with a better understanding of a complicated and difficult subject. I hope book clubs and teachers and librarians and police departments recommend the book and invite me in to discuss the truths revealed in the lies I told. I also hope the book entertains, draws readers into a world they might not be familiar with, and keeps them turning pages all night long so that they go into work the next day with a helluva book hangover and a desire to see what other books I’ve written.
Because in the end, the genre of a book matters little to me or to the reader. It’s the story that matters, it’s how well the lies are told.

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to lies

  1. I like having my sensibilities tested. It shows me that I still have sensibilities.

  2. Jan Morrill says:

    Well said, Pam. It IS the story that matters. And this is a powerful, frightening story.

  3. nancyhartney says:

    Top of my list to read – not concerned with genre. After all, most things are somewhere between black and white.

Leave a Reply

