The Week of Darkness

“Mercedes Benz”
Oh Lord, won’t you buy me a Mercedes Benz ?
My friends all drive Porsches, I must make amends.
Worked hard all my lifetime, no help from my friends,
So Lord, won’t you buy me a Mercedes Benz ?

Oh Lord, won’t you buy me a color TV ?
Dialing For Dollars is trying to find me.
I wait for delivery each day until three,
So oh Lord, won’t you buy me a color TV ?

Oh Lord, won’t you buy me a night on the town ?
I’m counting on you, Lord, please don’t let me down.
Prove that you love me and buy the next round,
Oh Lord, won’t you buy me a night on the town ?

Black Friday has become The Week of Darkness.

I don’t know about you, but I have far more things than I need or that are good for me.

Therefore, this Christmas I’m not buying gifts for you, my friends and family, and I’m asking you not to buy anything for me. Oh, none of you have been naughty. In fact, most of you have filled my year with joy and lifted me up when I’ve fallen. Some of you have very nearly smothered me in advice and love and concern. I thank God for showing me His love through you.

Most of us are generous with our gifts to those less economically fortunate during this season. We do what we can to keep Christ in Christmas, some of us work to keep God in Hanukkah, others strive to keep the teaching of Mohammad in Ramadan.

This year I challenge each and every one of you to double your efforts to feed the hungry, to help those in pain, to reach out to those who are having a year that’s maybe not quite as great as ours has been. We all have good intentions. But, sometimes we think about making that donation, or reaching out to that lost soul, but end up just dropping an extra five in the Salvation Army Santa’s red bucket and trying to feel good about our generosity.

This year I challenge us all to donate to one of the causes listed below, or to post one of your own favorite charities in the comments section. Please, share with me what you’re doing this year to keep this season one of joy and spirituality in the best sense of those overused words.

Soldier on Service Dogs provides trained service dogs for veterans with post-traumatic stress and traumatic brain injury.

Toys for Tots  Check out this video and donate, please.

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Week of Darkness

  1. Herb Hawn says:

    I like your tone Pamela, for years my late wife and I tried to get my mother, mostly, and others to not give us gifts, and for those who insisted, to make a donation to some worthy charity. Mom never liked that idea because the charity never seemed to make a big enough fuss over her gift.
    Oh well, we didn’t either.
    Anyhow, I try to direct my charity towards things that can’t do a thing about their condition, such as Nature Conservancy or the World Wildlife Fund, or organizations that require some effort from the recipients such as The Heifer Project. I like the way that both organizations go about their work.
    And I really respect the Salvation Army. Those folks will offer help to anyone and the director is not making a six figure salary to do so. I do get frustrated with them though. I have been a “Bell Ringer” for three years, and each time I had to really insist that they let me ring, although they keep whining about not enough people are helping. Each time that I rang, I offered to return, but was never called. It was said that my collections were high. I gave up trying to help, but I never pass a kettle without putting a dollar in it. I keep a supply of dollars handy just for the season.
    – herb

Leave a Reply

