What I wanted Hillary to do

new pam photo

Here’s what I wanted Hillary to do last night.

I wanted her to turn to the man stalking her from behind, the man so used to using his physical self to over-power women, that he saw nothing wrong with his behavior, I wanted her to turn around, look him in the eye and say simply,

“I am uncomfortable with you standing this close to me. Back off while I am speaking.”

Having worked for years in brokerage and banking, I have been that woman on that stage – competent, intelligent, hardworking – using so much energy to push back against the predation all around that I was exhausted each and every day. I often wonder how much more women could accomplish, even more than they already achieve, if they did not have to deal with constant sexual predation.

Inspired by a post on Girl Boner, by August McLaughlin, over the next few days I will do my best to tell my own story. For now, because like so many women, I must step away from the computer, bury my anger and frustration, and spend the day caring for others, in my case a husband who faces his own challenges, I ask only that you spend a few minutes thinking about the effects of rape culture on women. Maybe, together, we can figure out a way to make the world safer.

About Author and Speaker Pamela Foster

Pamela Foster is a speaker and author. Her first book, Redneck Goddess, is available at local bookstores and on Amazon. Her second book, Bigfoot Blues, will be available in August 2012.
This entry was posted in abuse, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I wanted Hillary to do

  1. Marcia Estep says:

    All women should be able to say those words to any man who would stand in our personal space. However knowing how Donald is it would have only served last night for Donald to make an intimadating and vile statement about her husband Bill. I admire her for trying to take the high road and trying to keep the debate on the issues and not Donald or her husbands past. I believe Bill truly regrets his past embarrassing behavior and has repeated of it. I see no reason to believe Donald has as it is truly ingrained in him to demean women and treat them as possesions for his pleasure. His true colors are evident by everything he has spewed from his mouth over the last year. I will be happy when this election is over!

Leave a Reply

